Faith, Power, Church · Family, Restoration, Reconciliation · Uncategorized

How Could I Forget That God Loved Me?

God is love

As I sat at my computer today to pen the words to this blog, my heart filled with great sadness. I felt hopeless. After several hurtful blows to the spirit, my joy took a downward spiral. It is strange how past mistakes, failures, and missteps can cast a cloudy view on the sunniest of days. Just like the psalmist, I had to ask myself this question: “Why art thou cast down, O my soul? And why art thou disquieted within me?” (Psalm 42:5) Where was my focus? The concerns of this world had penetrated my heart robbing me of the joy I once felt. Within moments, precious energy and strength was stolen. How could I forget that God loved me?

I opened up the Word of God. And there it was, scripture upon scripture reminding me of His thoughts of love towards me. Words of love and encouragement seemed to leap from the page. When the light entered, darkness had to flee. Immediately, praise entered my soul. My zeal for life returned. My countenance lifted as my spirit rejoiced within me! How could I forget that God loved me?

The Book of John tells me that “God so loved the world that He gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life” (John 3:16). The greatest gesture of love bestowed upon mankind. The Creator of the universe loves sinful me…really! I have messed up time and time again. Yet, He still loves me. He tells me that I have this “treasure that He placed in earthly vessels of clay; that the excellency of power may be of God and not us” (2 Corinthians 4:7). I have value. I have worth. How could I forget that God loved me?

Allow me to encourage you with these words…God loves you! Amazing is His love towards us. What type of love is this? The Bible describes the God type of love as this: “Love is not easily provoked, it is long-suffering, it does not think evil, it rejoices in truth, it bears all things, it believes all things, it hopes all things, and it endures all things” (1 Corinthians 13:4-7). Your past, present, or future can never revoke this gift of love…a free gift. Would you expect anything less from a loving Father? If you have ever doubted that anyone could ever think the world of you, here it is, “For love is of God” and “God is love” (1 John 4:7, 1 John 4:8). How could we forget that God loved us? Amen!!

Written by Laura Alexander

 

Leave a Reply

