choices · conduct · decisions · drive · energy · moving forward · OPTIONS · purpose · vision · winning

Keeping the Spirit of a Winner

I don’t know about you, but sometimes going after my dreams gets tough.  It seems the harder I press towards my goals, the harder life pushes back at me.  During those times, I find that discouragement is my only friend and the urge to throw in the towel gets stronger.  The giants of time, patience, fear, and lack of support attempt to wrestle my dreams right out from under me. The spirit of a winner finds the strength to show up daily for the battle, even when it seems the enemy has the advantage.

How do we find the ability to get back into the fight after a knock out?  What is the point to all this struggle?  Is it worth it?  These are the types of questions that swirl around in the back of my mind when things get tough.  For example, a personal goal of mine is to write everyday.  I would love to post to my blog on a weekly basis and by a specific day(quality not quantity is important to me); then, real life happens.   Can you guess what happens?  Posting to my blog gets placed on the back burner. Afterwards, I beat myself up!  My inner self-talk sounds something like this…”Wow! What a serious writer you are.”  “Are you sure this writing thing is for you?”  Well, you get the picture…right!

As we go through life, struggle will be a constant.  I thought about all the famous and not so famous people who succeeded in the face of adversity.  Those who had a made up mind to leap over obstacles and never give up.  So, I wrote down a few common themes in which they kept alive the spirit of a winner.  The commonalities were:

  • Daily practice
  • A made up mind (determination)
  • An uncommon desire to swim against the tide
  • Staying power. Does not crumble under pressure, conflict, adversity, or controversy
  • The willingness to take chances
  • The ability to lay aside all fears
  • Understand that mistakes are a part of life
  • The ability to regroup and regain focus
  • Avoid complacency
  • Dare to be different
  • Tune out all background noise
  • Ignore the naysayers
  • Vision and purpose
  • Understand there is a cost to success
  • Willingness to sacrifice
  • Practice delayed gratification
  • Know when to ask for help
  • The ability to show up for the fight on a daily basis

The list could go on, but these are the character traits that I chose to highlight.  Maybe you could add to the list.  Remember, winning in life is a challenge.  We all have the power to win.  Never give up on your dreams…refine, develop, and cultivate each one. That is how we keep the spirit of a winner…alive! 

Written by Laura Alexander

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

